The Fourth Annual We the People National Invitational competition will be held April 29 - May 2, 2016. The competition will be conducted on the campus of George Mason University in Fairfax, Virginia.

Middle school classes qualify to attend the National Invitational by participating in a simulated congressional hearing at the school, district, or state levels during the 2015-16 school year.

The National Invitational takes the form of simulated congressional hearing. During the hearings groups of students testify as constitutional experts before panels of judges acting as congressional committees. Each class is divided into six groups based on the six units of the 
We the People: The Citizen & the Constitution middle textbook. Each hearing begins with a four minute opening statement by students and is followed by a six minute period of follow-up questioning during which judges probe students' depth of knowledge, understanding and their ability to apply constitutional principles. Classes have the opportunity to compete or showcase at the event. The format provides students an excellent opportunity to demonstrate their knowledge and understanding of constitutional principles while providing the judges with an excellent means of assessing students' knowledge and application to historical and current constitutional issues. 

While in Washington, D.C., students will have the opportunity to tour our nation's capital and meet with members of Congress and other important dignitaries.  Travel, lodging, and tour arrangements for classes are made by WorldStrides. The Center for Civic Education organizes all other aspects of the National  Invitational.

2016 We the People National Invitational Participating Classes

State School Teacher
Arizona        Challenger Middle School      Norma Jean Higuera-Trask
Arizona        Apollo Middle School      Rebecca Walker
Arizona        Coronado K-8 School (Team 1)      Erika Sparlin
Arizona        Coronado K-8 School (Team 2)      Erika Sparlin
Arizona        Coronado K-8 School (Team 3)      Erika Sparlin
Colorado        Stanley British Primary School      Paige Romer
Florida        Bob Graham Education Center      Jackeline Hernandez & John Brady
Indiana        Brown County Junior High School      Michael Potts
Maine        Marshwood Middle School      Andy Rowe
Ohio        Gahanna Middle School South      Michael Browning
Oregon        Inza R Wood Middle School      Linda Koller
Virginia        Rachel Carson Middle School      Cynthia Burgett


CCE LogoThis site is brought to you by the Center for Civic Education. The Center's mission is to promote an enlightened and responsible citizenry committed to democratic principles and actively engaged in the practice of democracy. The Center has reached more than 30 million students and their teachers since 1965. Learn more.

Center for Civic Education

5115 Douglas Fir Road, Suite J
Calabasas, CA 91302

  Phone: (818) 591-9321

  Email: web@civiced.org

  Media Inquiries: cce@civiced.org

  Website: www.civiced.org

© Center for Civic Education