To a large extent the quality of the National Finals experience for students and teachers is based
upon the expertise and demeanor of the judges. Seventy-two judges will participate in the
competition on Saturday and Sunday and eighteen judges will participate on Monday.

Please review the resouces on this webpage. In addition, a packet will be available for
you with more information at the National Finals information desk in the lobby of the Mason Inn
on Friday evening and in the judges' orientation room on Saturday and Sunday.
divide b

Judges' Resources

We the People High School Textbook

Judges' Orientation Video

27th Annual We the People National Finals Judges

Barry Anderson
Associate Justice, Minnesota Supreme Court, Saint Paul, MN

Michael Anderson
Vice President of Academic Affairs, Wayne State College, Wayne, NE

Frederick S. Ansell
Counsel, US Senate Judiciary Committee, Chevy Chase, MD

Louis Baer*
EHS Regulatory Consultant, Enhesa, Bethesda, MD

John Balentine
Manager, Excellence in Civic Engagement Program, Arizona Department Of Education, Phoenix, AZ

David W. Baranow
Attorney at Law, Anchorage, AK

Joseph Biron
Educator, Bakersfield, CA

James Burke
Justice, Wyoming Supreme Court, Cheyenne, WY

Rita Byrnes Kittle
Trial Attorney, U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, Denver, CO

Kelly Carmichael Booz
Director of Partnerships, Share My Lesson; Alexandria School Board Member, Alexandria, VA

Talesha L. Caynon
Associate, Bernstein Shur, P.A., Nashua, NH

Henry L. Chambers, Jr.
Professor of Law, University of Richmond School of Law, Richmond, VA

Augustus G. Chin
Municipal Judge, City of Holladay, Holladay, UT

Carl J. Dermady Jr.
Social Studies Consultant, Jefferson Parish Public Schools (Ret.), Westwego, LA

Lindsey Draper
Wisconsin Department of Justice, Wauwatosa, WI

Chuck Dunlap
Executive Director, Indiana Bar Foundation, Indianapolis, IN

Madeline E. Dunn
Curator of Education, Historian, National Register Coordinator – Department of State, Dover, DE

Lisa Eschleman
Executive Director, Ohio Center for Law-Related Education, Columbus, OH

Daniel R. Foley
Judge, Intermediate Court of Appeals, Honolulu, HI

Donald M. Fulkerson
Attorney and Counselor, Westland, MI

Michael Galgano
Professor of History, James Madison University, Harrisonburg, VA

Jamie Gass
Director, Center for School Reform, Pioneer Institute, Boston, MA

Caryn M. Glawe*
Partner, Faegre Baker Daniels LLP, Indianapolis, IN

Benjamin Glickman*
Deputy Attorney General, California Department of Justice, Sacramento, CA

Jeffrey P. Hallem
Assistant Attorney General, Office of Attorney General, State of South Dakota, Pierre, SD

Stewart Harris
Public Radio Host, Your Weekly Constitutional, Grundy, VA

Melissa Hart*
Professor & Director, Byron White Center for Constitutional Law, University of Colorado Law School, Boulder, CO

Charles Hinderliter*
Manager, Advocacy Outreach, St. Louis Regional Chamber, Saint Louis, MO

Jeffrey Houser*
Attorney, Crabbe Brown & James, Columbus, OH

David L. Hudson, Jr.
Attorney, Nashville, TN

Ron Keefover
Education-Information Officer, Kansas Supreme Court, Office of Judicial Administration (Ret.), Topeka, KS

Rives Kistler
Judge, Oregon Supreme Court, Salem, OR

Karl Kurtz
National Conference of State Legislatures, Denver, CO

Reed Lee*
Attorney, Chicago, IL

Susan M. Leeson
Senior Judge, Portland, OR

Roger Lempke
Director of Military & Veterans Affairs, Senator Deb Fischer, Lincoln, NE

Andrew D. Levy
Attorney, Brown,Goldstein,and Levy LLP, Baltimore, MD

Kurt A. Mabis*
Honors Clerk, U.S. Air Force Court of Criminal Appeals, Alexandria, VA

Thomas C. Mackey
Professor of History and Adjunct Professor of Law, University of Louisville, Louisville, KY

Elizabeth C. Matto
Assistant Research Professor, Eagleton Institute, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ

Tandy McConnell
Professor of History, Columbia College, Columbia, SC

Reta McKannan
Attorney at Law, Huntsville, AL

Cisco McSorley
New Mexico State Senator, Albuquerque, NM

Mariam Memarsadeghi*
Co-Founder & Co-Director, E-Collaborative for Civic Education, Bethesda, MD

Mike Miles
Jefferson County Treasurer, Huntsville, AL

Cheryl Miller
Hertog Foundation, Washington, DC

David Moe
Attorney, David L. Moe & Associates P.S., Maple Valley, WA

Timothy D. Moore
Deputy Director, Center for the Study of the American Constitution, Madison, WI

James B. Morgan
Attorney at Law; Chair, North Carolina Bar Association’s Law-Related Education Committee, Wilmington, NC

Kristen Morrow
Legal Counsel, Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, Jefferson City, MO

Robert D. Oster, Esq.
Attorney, Providence, RI

Edith Pacillo
Deputy Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General of Idaho, Boise, ID

Adam F. Packer*
General Counsel, GTECH, Indianapolis, IN

Thom Parisi*
Federal Communications Commission, Washington, DC

Jerry W. Perry
(Ret.) Professor of Government, San Angelo State University, San Angelo, TX

Marc Picker
Deputy Alternate Public Defender, Washoe County, Reno, NV

Patrick Queenan*
Assistant Attorney General, New Hampshire Department of Justice, Nashua, NH

James Rice
Legislative Assistant, Office of Senator Charles E. Grassley, Washington, DC

Jeannette Robertson
Attorney at Law, Robertson Law Firm, Little Rock, AR

Donald W. Rogers
Adjunct Lecturer in History, Central Connecticut State University, New Britain, CT

Robert A. Schadler
Senior Fellow, American Foreign Policy Council, Washington, DC

Mike Schessler
Partner, Bowles Rice LLP, Charleston, WV

Bill P. Schwartz
Attorney, Ranck & Schwartz, Jackson, WY

Rachel Scott*
Division Administrator, Iowa College Student Aid Commission, Des Moines, IA

Julie Silverbrook
Executive Director, The Constitutional Sources Project, Washington, DC

Amy Sings In The Timber
Executive Director, Montana Justice Foundation, Missoula, MT

John Sponski
Treasurer, Board of Directors, The Montpelier Foundation, Locust Dale, VA

Grey Squires-Binford
Attorney, Killgore, Pearlman, Stamp, Ornstein & Squires, P.A., Orlando, FL

Candida Steel
Judge, U.S. Civilian Board of Contract Appeals, Washington, DC

Joseph Stewart, Jr.
Professor of Political Science, Clemson University, Clemson, SC

Thomas R. Tinder
Executive Director, West Virginia Bar Foundation, Charleston, WV

Rosemary Traub
Attorney, New Mexico Legal Aid, Albuquerque, NM

Grant Ullrich*
Assistant Corporation Counsel, City of Chicago Department of Law, Chicago, IL

Thomas Vontz
Professor of Education, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS

Louis Warren
Professor of Education, East Carolina University, Greenville, NC

Michael Winkelman
Attorney, McCarthy & Winkelman, LLP, Lanham, MD

Devin Wiser*
Legislative Advisor, U.S. House of Representatives, Washington, DC

Patricia H. Wong
Superior Court Commissioner (Ret.), Sacramento, CA

*Denotes We the People alumni


CCE LogoThis site is brought to you by the Center for Civic Education. The Center's mission is to promote an enlightened and responsible citizenry committed to democratic principles and actively engaged in the practice of democracy. The Center has reached more than 30 million students and their teachers since 1965. Learn more.

Center for Civic Education

5115 Douglas Fir Road, Suite J
Calabasas, CA 91302

  Phone: (818) 591-9321

  Email: web@civiced.org

  Media Inquiries: cce@civiced.org

  Website: www.civiced.org

© Center for Civic Education