The success of the We the People competitions depends on the generosity of volunteers who serve as judges, facilitators, and timers. Community leaders, academics, attorneys, judges, public servants, elected officials, education professionals, program alumni, and so many others are integral to every program, whether in person or online.

We want to extend a huge “thank you” for taking time out of your busy schedules to join us. It is a pleasure to welcome back those of you who are experienced “veterans,” and a delight to welcome those of you who are joining us at the National Finals for the very first time. Thank you all for agreeing to serve!

divide b
Judges (listed alphabetically)
 Will be listed as they confirm

Barry Anderson, Justice, MInnesota Supreme Court, St. Paul, MN

Jack Barlow, Professor of Politics, Juniata College, Huntingdon, PA

Scott L. Barnhart, Chief Counsel, Office of the Attorney General, Indianapolis, IN

Nathaniel A Birkhead, University Distinguished Teaching Scholar and Department Head, Political Science, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS

Alan Brodman, CCE Consultant, Retired, Monroe Township, NJ

Jocelyn Broman, Professional Staff, U.S. House of Representatives, Washington D.C

Lester Brooks, Professor of History, Anne Arundel Community College (Adjunct), Arnold, MD

Chris Cavanaugh, CCE Consultant, Bismarck High School, Bismarck, ND

Frank J Cheers, Civic Education Specialist, Chicago Public Schools, Chicago, IL

Augustus G Chin, Municipal Judge, CIty of Holladay Justice Court, Holladay, UT

Alexander D Constantelos, Civic Education Specialist, Ann Arbor Public Schools, Ann Arbor, MI

Sarah L Copeland Hanzas, Vermont Secretary of State, State of Vermont, Bradford, VT

John J Cousins, Educator and Writer, Intelligentsia, Albuquerque, NM

Marilyn  R Cover, Adjunct Professor, ret, Lewis and Clark Law School, Portland, OR

Sara B Crook, Emeritus Professor of Political Science, Peru State College, Peru NE

John K DeLoache, Senior Staff Attorney, SC Assoc. of Counties, Columbia, SC

Carl J Dermady, Jr., K-12 Social Studies Consultant, retired, Jefferson Parish Public Schools, Harvey, LA

Lindsey D. Draper, Judicial Court Commissioner (Ret.), Institute for Well-Being in Law, Wauwatosa, WI

Charles Dunlap, President & CEO, Indiana Bar Foundation, Indianapolis, IN

Ross Eisenman, Senior Federal Executive, U.S. courts, The Federal Judiciary, Washington, DC

Sarah Elfreth, Senator, Maryland Senate, Annapolis, MD

Francene Engel, Political Scientist & Constitutional Scholar, Maryland Council for Civic & History Education, Annapolis, MD

Trish Everett, CCE Consultant, Pine Crest School, Fort Lauderdale, FL

Susan Firestone, Attorney, Retired, East Grand Rapids, MI

Anitere Flores, State Senator 2010-2020, State of Florida, Miami, FL

Kevin  H Fox, CCE Consultant, Arcadia High School, Arcadia, CA

Terry Fox, Appellate Judge, Colorado Court of Appeals, Denver, CO

Jamie Gass, Director of the Center for School Reform, Pioneer Institute, Boston, MA

Benjamin Glickman, Supervising Deputy Attorney General, California Department of Justice, Sacramento, CA

Kari Jo Gray, Justice, Wyoming Supreme Court, Cheyenne, WY

Peter T Gunn, Community Activist, CW Design, New London, NH

Alyssa Hanou, Program Manager, British Embassy Washington, Washington, DC

Margaret FH Heubeck, Director- Youth Leadership Initiative, UVA Center for Politics, UVA Center for Politics, Charlottesville, VA

Charlie Hinderliter, Director of Government Affairs, St. Louis REALTORS®, St. Louis, MO

Ronnald J Jeffrey, Juvenile Court Judge, City of Cheyenne, Cheyenne WY

Stephen R Jewett, Judge, Ninth Judicial Circuit of Florida, Winter Park, FL

Caitlin A Johnston, Corporate Attorney, New York, NY

Mike Kelly, Family Court Judge (Ret.), Charleston, WV

Brit A Kreimeyer, Defense Attorney – Adult Felony Unit, Thurston County Public Defense, Olympia, WA

Tandy McConnell, Educator, Ridge View High School, Columbia, SC

James P. McKenna, Attorney / Adjunct Teaching Professor, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Millbury, MA

Mike Miles, Retired County Official, Jefferson County, Al, Birmingham, AL

Karen Greve Milton, Senior Consultant, Danosky & Associates, New York, NY

Tim D Moore, Deputy Director, Center for the Study of the American Constitution, Waukesha

Paul B. Nolette, Associate Professor of Political Science, Marquette University, Milwaukee, WI

Diana Owen, Professor of Political Science, Georgetown University, Washington, DC

Liza Prendergast, Vice President, Democracy International, Washington, DC

Beth Ratway, Principal Technical Assistance Consultant, American Institutes for Research, Merton, WI

David N Richmond, Civic Education Specialist, Kern High School District, Bakersfield, CA

Karl D. Smith, Deputy Solicitor General, Washington State Attorney General's Office, Olympia, WA

Candida S. Steel, Judge (retired), U.S Civilian Board of Contract Appeals, Owls Head, ME

Joseph Stewart, Jr., Professor of Political Science, Clemson University, Clemson, SC

Patricia L Supplee, Executive Director, Energizing Young Voters, an initiative of the League of Women Voters, Ocean Grove, NJ

Shawn M Tanguay, Attorney, Drummond Woodsum, Manchester, NH

Daniel M Taubman, Senior Judge, Colorado Court of Appeals, Denver, CO

Tom Tinder, Attorney, Member, Board of Directors, WV Bar Foundation, Charleston.WV

Lynn Uzzell, Visiting Assistant Professor of American Politics, Washington and Lee University, Lexington, VA

Edward L. Volpe, Attorney, Volpe Law Firm, Denver, CO

Thomas S. Vontz, Professor of Education, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS

Mike Williams, Professor of Political Science and International Relations, University of San Diego, San Diego, CA

Daniel Wong, Member, Board of Directors, Idaho We The People, Boise, ID

Ilan Wurman, Associate Professor of Law, Arizona State University, Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law, Phoenix, AZ

divide b
Judges' Resources

We the People High School Textbook

  Judges' Orientation Video


2023 National Finals

We the People Logo

Important Information




Contact Rebecca Reeder at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Contact Emily Voss at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


CCE LogoThis site is brought to you by the Center for Civic Education. The Center's mission is to promote an enlightened and responsible citizenry committed to democratic principles and actively engaged in the practice of democracy. The Center has reached more than 30 million students and their teachers since 1965. Learn more.

Center for Civic Education

5115 Douglas Fir Road, Suite J
Calabasas, CA 91302

  Phone: (818) 591-9321

  Email: web@civiced.org

  Media Inquiries: cce@civiced.org

  Website: www.civiced.org

© Center for Civic Education