Winner of National Constitution & Bill of Rights Competition Announced

April 29, 2019

Robert Leming (805) 890-4059, Maria Gallo (805) 904-7411, Mark Molli (818) 916-7695

Washington, April 29, 2019 — After three days of simulated congressional hearings that tested their knowledge of the U.S. Constitution and Bill of Rights, three schools took top honors at the 32nd Annual We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution National Finals.

The National Winner: Denver East High School, Colorado  Teachers: Susan McHugh & Matt Fulford

Second Place: Amador Valley High School, California  Teacher: Stacey Sklar

Third Place: Grant High School, Oregon (wild card)  Teacher:  Angela DiPasquale

A total of 56 classes representing 44 states came to the nation’s capital to participate in the academic competition where students demonstrate their knowledge of the Constitution before simulated congressional committees made up of state supreme court judges, constitutional scholars, lawyers, public officials and We the People alumni.

The panel of judges tested the expertise of the classes on the six units of the “We the People: The Citizen & the Constitution” textbook: What Are the Philosophical and Historical Foundations of the American Political System? How Did the Framers Create the Constitution? How Has the Constitution Been Changed to Further the Ideals Contained in the Declaration of Independence? How Have the Values and Principles Embodied in the Constitution Shaped American Institutions and Practices? What Rights Does the Bill of Rights Protect? and What Challenges Might Face American Constitutional Democracy in the Twenty-first Century?

More information on the We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution program is available at and  

The We the People Program is administered by the Center for Civic Education. More information about the Center can be found at 

The 2019 We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution National Finals is partially funded by the tremendous effort of teachers, students, parents, and We the People state coordinators to secure community sponsors.

The competition results were announced at an awards ceremony Monday evening before an audience of more than 1,400 students, teachers, coordinators, judges and other program participants. The Award Ceremony, held at the National Constitution Center, included speakers Tom Kilgannon of the National Commission on Military, National, and Public Service and John Tinker of the John F. Tinker Foundation. John and Mary Beth Tinker were part of the landmark Supreme Court case of Tinker v Des Moines Independent Community School District (1969).

For a list of all the awards and winning schools please visit