Ten High Schools Advance to Championship Round of National Competition on Constitution and Bill of Rights

CONTACT: Robert Leming (805) 890-4059, Maria Gallo (805) 904-7411, or Mark Molli (818) 916-7695

Washington — Schools from Alabama, California, Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Oregon, and Virginia are advancing to the championship round of the 2017 We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution National Finals today, Monday, April 24. Ten classes will vie for first place in the academic competition, where students demonstrate their constitutional knowledge during simulated congressional hearings. The championship round will take place in congressional hearing rooms on Capitol Hill. The competition schedule is provided below.

Nearly 1,300 high school students from 42 states have gathered in Washington, D.C., to participate in the 30th Annual We the People National Finals, administered by the Center for Civic Education. The initial field of 56 classes has been reduced to 10 finalists based on the combined scores of each class over the past two days of intense examination of their constitutional knowledge. In the competition, students demonstrate their knowledge of constitutional issues before simulated congressional committees composed of constitutional scholars, lawyers, historians and public officials. Students complete a comprehensive course of study on the Constitution to qualify for the competition.

More information about the We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution program and the National Finals is available at http://www.civiced.org/programs/wtp and  http://www.civiced.org/national-finals-2017 .

Competing 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m

School, State, Room & Building

Grant High School, Oregon, 2167 Rayburn

Amador Valley High School,  California ,2200 Rayburn

Cathedral High School, Indiana, 2203 Rayburn

East Grand Rapids High Schoo, Michigan, 2237 Rayburn

Vestavia Hills High School, Alabama, 122 Cannon 

Competing 2:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

School, State, Room & Building

Denver East High School, Colorado, 2167 Rayburn

Douglas S Freeman High School,* Virginia, 2200 Rayburn

Plainfield High School,* Indiana, 2203 Rayburn

Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School for Government and International Studies, Virginia, 2237 Rayburn

Maine South High School, Illinois, 2322 Rayburn 

*Denotes Wild Card Team


Open for news coverage. To avoid disruption of the hearings and facilitate news coverage please contact Robert Leming at 805-890-4059 or Mark Molli at 818-912-7695 prior to entering a hearing room. 


April 24, 8:30 P.M. EDT

National Conference Center, Leesburg, Virginia

Announcement of winners at 9:30 p.m. EDT and streaming live on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/CenterforCivicEducation.

 (Press Release) April 24, 2017 

 Monday hearing schedule