Print E-mail

Participant Network

The Campaign to Promote Civic Education effort is a fifty-state campaign (including the District of Columbia) aimed at restoring the civic mission of our nation's schools by encouraging states and school districts to devote sustained and systematic attention to civic education from kindergarten through twelfth grade.  The campaigns share the common goal of improving civic education policy and practice. For more information about this national policy effort, please contact Mark Molli or John Hale. You can also find campaign resources, events, and partners at this site.


To learn more about the Campaign in your state, please contact your state campaign facilitor:


ALASKA
Mary Bristol
Civitas Alaska
akbristol@gci.net

ALABAMA
Janice Bedford
Alabama Center for Law & Civic Education
janice_bedford@yahoo.com
205-726-2433

ARKANSAS
Contact the Center

ARIZONA
Jeffrey Schrade
Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education
jeffrey.schrade@azflse.org
602-340-7268

CALIFORNIA
Carol Hatcher
Hatcher International Consulting

COLORADO
Barbara Miller
Center for Education In Law and Democracy
miller@lawanddemocracy.org
303-778-0756

CONNECTICUT
Contact the Center

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
Deborah Foster
Street Law, Inc.
Dfoster@streetlaw.org
301-589-1130

DELAWARE
Patricia Quann
Delaware Law Related Education
delrecntr@aol.com
302-778-0643

FLORIDA
Annette Boyd Pitts
Florida Law Related Education Association, Inc
staff@flrea.org
850-386-8223

GEORGIA
Mary Stakes
mestakes@bellsouth.net

HAWAII
Lyla Berg
Hawaii House of Representatives
lyla@lylaberg.com
808-586-6510

IOWA
Carol Brown
Iowa Council for the Social Studies
bluedove32@aol.com
515-278-1895

IDAHO
Dan Prinzing
Wassmuth Center for Human Rights
dan@wassmuthcenter.org
208-345-0304

ILLINOIS
Patton Feichter
Illinois Civitas
pfeichter@comcast.net

INDIANA
Charles Dunlap
cdunlap@inbf.org
317-269-7861

KANSAS
Lynn Vasquez

KENTUCKY
Deborah Williamson

LOUISIANA
Contact the Center

MASSACHUSETTS
Contact the Center

MARYLAND
Marcie Taylor-Thoma
Maryland Council for Civic & History Education
marciethoma@gmail.com
410-767-0519

MAINE
Glenn Nerbak
nerbak@mac.com

MICHIGAN
Linda Start
Michigan Center for Civic Education
lstart@miciviced.org

MINNESOTA
Jennifer Bloom
Learning Law and Democracy Foundation
jbloom@teachingcivics.org

MISSOURI
Millie Aulbur
The Missouri Bar Center
milliea@mobar.org
573-638-2250

MISSISSIPPI
Susie Burroughs
Mississippi State University
SBurroughs@colled.msstate.edu
662-325-7124

MONTANA
Sally Broughton
Monforton School
hawgeemt@gmail.com
406-586-1557

NORTH CAROLINA
Kelley O'Brien
North Carolina Civic Consortium
919-843-0664

NORTH DAKOTA
Phil Harmeson
University of North Dakota
phil.harmeson@mail.und.nodak.edu
701-777-2121

NEBRASKA
Mitch McCartney
mmccartney@unicam.state.ne.us
402-471-2788

NEW HAMPSHIRE
Debby Scire
Campus Compact NH
scire@compactnh.org
603-223-2302

NEW JERSEY
Arlene Gardner
New Jersey Center for Civic Education
agardner@njclre.rutgers.edu
848-445-3413

NEW MEXICO
Dora Marroquin
Center for Democracy and Civic Education
nmcdce@me.com
505-822-8357

NEVADA
Judith Simpson
Project REAL
judith7640@aol.com
702-388-7527

NEW YORK
Stephen Schechter
Council for Citizenship Education
518-393-5847

OHIO
Contact the Center

OKLAHOMA
Gina Wekke
405-225-9142

OREGON
Barbara Rost
barbrost50@gmail.com
503-224-4424

PENNSYLVANIA
Contact the Center

RHODE ISLAND
Michael Trofi
John F Deering Middle School
mtrofi@westwarwickpublicschools.com
401-823-1680

SOUTH CAROLINA
Harriett Lee Rucker
harrirucker@comcast.net

SOUTH DAKOTA
Helen Usera
Chiesman Center for Democracy
605-341-4311

TENNESSEE
Janis Kyser
Tennesee Center for Civic Learning and Engagement
tccle111@gmail.com
423-593-1444

TEXAS
Jan Miller
State Bar of Texas
jan.miller@texasbar.com
512-427-1821

UTAH
Kathy Dryer
Utah Law-Related Education Project
lawrelatedkathy@xmission.com
801-322-1802

VIRGINIA
Sean O'Brien
Center for the Constitution: James Madison's Montpelier
stobrien@montpelier.org
540-672-2728

VERMONT
Vee Gordon
vernagordon@comcast.net
802-878-5650

WASHINGTON
Kathy Hand
Civic Education Washington State
kathyhand@comcast.net
206-248-3463

WISCONSIN
Beth Ratway
bratway@wi.rr.com

WEST VIRGINIA
Jay Cole
Office of the Governor
304-558-3152

WYOMING
Dick Kean
kean@civiced.org
307-766-2300