American Lawyers Alliance Announces Teacher of the Year Award

Sep 02, 2015 / E-news

Three law-related education teachers  received the American Lawyers Alliance Teacher of the Year Award: Robert Priest of Van Wert High School in Van Wert, Ohio, Jill Baisinger of Cathedral High School in Indianapolis, Indiana, and Robert Ames of Oyster-Adams Bilingual School in Washington, D.C., who was the middle school winner.

Priest and Baisinger are We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution teachers. Baisinger’s class received the Central States Regional Award at the 2105 We the People National Finals. Baisinger also received the 2015 American Teacher Education Award earlier this year, which is sponsored by the Center for Civic Education, the Center on Congress at Indiana University, and the National Education Association. Priest’s class has been the runner up in the Ohio We the People state competition for the past three years. Priest has been teaching We the People since 1999 and is an Ohio We the People district coordinator.

The American Lawyers Alliance honored the three teachers at an awards breakfast July 31 at the University Club of Chicago.

To learn more about the American Lawyers Alliance, visit their website.

Comments: 0

« American Civic Education Teacher Awards: 2015 Winners | We the People Elementary Text Available through NIMAC »